top of page

Wind, beaches, and tangerines...

Technically, these were not my first impressions of Jeju Island, but my arrival on the island the second time was quite a bit more excruciating than the last. I’ve come to realize more on this trip that I really REALLY do not like planes. Everytime I leave a plane I am in the most horrible, angry mood ever. And I am not the type to get angry often...but planes awaken a fury within me that cannot be contained once it is activated. Putting that aside, upon arriving on the island, i was very upset because of my plane issues, but the first thing that greeted me after stepping out of the airport was the WIND!! Finally, air that can freely blow throughout a landscape, not being stunted by enormous buildings standing everywhere, as they are in Seoul. This wind comforted my anger by about 5%. But after the first day of just relaxing and getting acclimated to the rooms.... Which is another angry story we wont get to, I had a great time in Jeju and it ended up being one of my favorite experiences of the trip. Joanne, our tour guide was an amazing woman whom I immediately fell in love with and compared to my other trip to Jeju, we experienced many more things the island had to offer. I loved hearing about the culture of the Hae-nyuh, or the sea diver women of the island, and how just 50 or 60 years ago, civilization in Jeju was still having to go to a river with a bucket to bring back water to our family. A super interesting culture all around, and I enjoyed spending my last days in Korea relaxing in the windy weather and beaches and eating the sweet tangerines!!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page