top of page

Reflecting on my own identity

I love being able to explore a new culture and learning about it, being in Korea was a phenomenon experience. I think the opportunity to explore a culture is very slim, that's why when the chance comes around it should be reach for at any expenses, knowing that it will be worth a lifetime of experience. I had done two study abroad program so far, and both of the programs took place in Asian. This specific region of the world (Asia) holds a very different and significant meaning to me because I am Asian-American. What stood out the most to me while being in Korea was that I sort of blended in with the majority of the crowd, opposed to when I am in the United States where I am a part of the minority. This really throw me into a whole different realm of reality, which push me back to reflect on who I am as a person, an individual, and where I stand. Sucked into the whirlpool of confusion and constantly struggle to understand the possible obstacles that resign within the different cultures that I become a part of, and the culture that I came from. Well, in the constant process of discovering possibilities whether in culture, or within myself I know that I will always be different. I don't need to try and live in a box crafted to fit specific individuals, for I believe that as we learn and grow, what we think we know, and who we think we are will be re-alter into something grander than the person we were, I hope.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page